As I wait

As I lay here after getting only approximately two hours of sleep. I started to think as I waited on the Doctors to make their way to my hospital room.

I reflected a bit back on my “journey” as some may call it. I’ve come a long way since “the girl with a trach and feeding tube.”

In the midst of my pain I’ve realized that while I wait for things to get better, I’m missing out.

I’m waiting for my problems to pass me by, but that’s not how life works. As I wait for the light at the end of the tunnel, I’m completely bypassing the present.

One thing that waiting this morning taught me is to not wait. I need to do as much as I can do in the present time.

Now, I don’t mean acrobatics or anything of that nature, but I do need to get out more often, hang out with friends and just in general live a little more.

For awhile I had become a ghost of a girl I used to be. I would purposely not attend events, sleepovers, etc.

I get sick ALOT but from now on, I’m going to make the best of the time I spend away from doctors offices and hospitals.

I’m not going to be a shadow anymore, I’m going to be the sun, I’m going to shed some light on my path that I’m paving.

I am going to stop waiting, and start living.

7 thoughts on “As I wait

  1. Rachel Fagan says:

    So proud of you & your new blog! I’ve read both entries (so far) & have to tell you I am so impressed! You are so brave & I think you will enjoy this experience of blogging your “journey”. I’ll be tagging along for the ride! Love you! 💜 😊

    Like

  2. Oz Dallyn says:

    Top attitude and most eloquently expressed. Will be pointing my lad (who has LM) in the direction of your blog in the future for sure 😀 Hope this flare up is sorted soon and you get to go have some fun xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eric Kung says:

    Thank you for sharing! I sit in absolute admiration of your strength and courage.

    My one year old daughter was diagnosed with LM in almost the exact same locations as you (under her tongue and the left side of her chin).
    As a fairly new father, I have no idea how to even begin to prepare my daughter for what’s to come. Reading your entries, allow me a slight glimpse into your experience, and I can’t tell you how grateful I am for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

