The opposite side

Today I sit in the family waiting area rather than being the one to lay unconscious on an operating room table.

I’ve never been in this room before, it’s an odd feeling. It feels so foreign and new. Personally, I don’t like it.

I don’t like how you feel so clueless. I don’t like how you feel helpless, knowing you can’t sit by your loved ones side while they are being operated on.

I now know how my mom feels and I love her so much more than I ever thought I could.

I now know of the uneasiness she feels when she hands me off to the surgeons.

I now know why she hugs me so tight, kisses me and whispers “goodnight”.

Now I know what it feels like to be on the opposite side.

Leave a Reply

